i love english language

Keira Knightley – Sample Year 12 Question

Posted in Uncategorized by aggslanguage on May 13, 2010

SECTION A – Language and Mode

Question 1

Text A is the script for the opening of an interview by Jonathan Ross of the actress Keira Knightley


Text B is an extract from the biography of Keira Knightley from the website http://www.keiraknightleyfan.com.

Identify and describe the main mode characteristics of the texts.

Examine how the speakers in Text A and the writer of Text B use language to achieve their purposes and create meanings.

In your answer you should consider:

  • vocabulary and meanings
  • grammatical features and their effects
  • topics and how they are structured
  • interactive features of language in Text A
  • how the language of Text B addresses the reader and shapes their response.


Text A

(underlining indicates overlaps)

J: Keira (.) how lovely to have you here thank you for joining us on the show

K: Thank you for having me

J: Er you look spectacular as I would have expected

K: Thank you (.) so do you

J: Thank you. Now (.) I I I love seeing your movies (.) I think you’re like a proper movie star okay (.) in that you can act but you’ve got this kinda this look about you which is which is not like normal people (.) do you know what I’m saying there

K: Not really

J: Because you’re


K: Is that good


J: Yes it’s a good thing you you’ve got a great face for movies   

K: oh

J: you look I mean you’re a beautiful woman but you’re kind of a weird looking beautiful woman do you know what I mean

K: (.) I’m gonna take it as a compliment

J: Yeah because you’ve got like a movie star’s face

K: Thank you

J: I s’pose there’s not much you can say back

K: Ok (.) no (.) I mean there’s not really (.) so do you

J:you can act as well (.) well no I don’t do I

K: Yeah you do cos you look like Johnny Depp cos you’ve got the beard

J: Yes! Yes! You can go now thankyou!

K: [inaudible]

J: Erm (.) is it an exciting time for you (.) it must be I would have thought because I I I know when you first came out some people were (.) not sniffy about you but they were kind of less receptive to you as an actress than they are now (.) now it’s like

K: I think it’s fair to say they were (.) sniffy (.) I mean (.) you know (.) yes but it’s really nice though cos (.) this films being received really well so that’s good


J: yeah but I think that’s cos like the first film I ever saw you in er Bend it like Beckham and (.) I enjoyed the movie very much indeed and I thought your performance and all performances were really good

K: Good (.) thank you

J: I really enjoyed it (.) but what people

K: Well no I think people said I think wooden (.) was the word that was used a lot (2) which is fair enough (.) you know

J: But do you think it’s fair enough do you think it was a wooden performance

K: I don’t know I’ve only seen it once (.) erm it I I don’t know (.) I was sixteen it could’ve been


Text B

In 2006, Knightley was invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Her biggest financial hit thus far, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest, was released in July 2006.

2007 saw the release of several films starring Knightley: Silk, an adaptation of the novel by Alessandro Baricco, Atonement, a feature film adaptation of Ian McEwan’s novel of the same name (co-starring James McAvoy, Vanessa Redgrave, and Brenda Blethyn), and Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End, which was released in May 2007. Knightley’s performance in Atonement began to generate buzz before the film was released; she was nominated for a Golden Globe Award in the Best Dramatic Actress category for the role, as well as a BAFTA Award. Critic Richard Roeper was puzzled by both Knightley’s and McAvoy’s Academy Award snubs stating “I thought McAvoy and Knightly were superb.”

In the late spring of 2007, Knightley shot The Edge of Love with Cillian Murphy as her husband, Matthew Rhys as her childhood sweetheart, Welsh poet Dylan Thomas, and Sienna Miller as Thomas’ wife Caitlin MacNamara. She received, for the most part, very positive reviews for her role. The 2008 release was penned by her mother, Sharman Macdonald, and directed by John Maybury. She then filmed The Duchess, based on the best-selling biography, Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman in which she played Georgiana Cavendish, Duchess of Devonshire; the film was released in cinemas on 5 September 2008 in the U.K.

Knightley appears in the present-day drama Last Night, in which she co-starred with Eva Mendes, Sam Worthington and Guillaume Canet. It is directed by Massy Tadjedin. In April 2009, Knightley began work on an adaptation of Kazuo Ishiguro’s dystopian novel, Never Let Me Go. Filming took place in Norfolk and Clevedon. Upcoming films for 2009 include London Boulevard, with Colin Farrell, the script of which is written by William Monahan, who will also make his directing debut.

Knightley successfully auditioned for the role of Eliza Doolittle, in the Columbia Pictures planned remake of the stage musical My Fair Lady to be produced by Cameron Mackintosh although no release date has yet been scheduled. She will also work on The Beautiful and the Damned, a biopic about the life and relationship of American novelist F. Scott Fitzgerald and his novelist wife Zelda Sayre. The film is directed by John Curran and scheduled for release in 2010.

In 2008 she was attached to play Cordelia in a big screen adaptation of King Lear which was subsequently abandoned. Knightley has confirmed that she will not be starring in the fourth installment of Pirates of the Caribbean.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dan said, on May 17, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Hi, thanks for these. I’ve added them as links to a post on our blog.

  2. Myla said, on May 18, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Hey! I’m studying English Language from home on a distance learning course and cannot praise your blog enough for all the help it’s given me (:

    Thank you,


Leave a Reply

